FRAME was founded in 1999 by Elizabeth Rohatyn, Co-President and Chairman of the Board of Trustees. The Founding Co-President of FRAME was the late Francoise Cachin (1936-2011), Director of the Musées de France at that time. Mrs. Rohatyn developed this innovative organization while her husband, Felix G. Rohatyn served as Ambassador of the United States of America to France (1997-2000), appointed by President Clinton. Mrs. Rohatyn engaged Dr. Richard R. Brettell to serve as Founding Director (1999-2009).

Currently, FRAME in France is represented by Co-President Marie-Christine Labourdette, the Director of the Service of the Musées de France, and FRAME in North America is represented by Co-President William Beekman. Émilie Vanhaesebroucke is the Executive Director for FRAME France, and Luisa Adrianzen Guyer is the Executive Director for FRAME North America.

The organization began with 18 member museums and has grown over the years to include a broader array of museums and regions in France and North America. It is the only consortium of its kind and FRAME’s commitment to cultural diplomacy in the context of museum exchanges reflects its origins in the U.S. Embassy in Paris and Mrs. Rohatyn’s vision.

FRAME, a non-profit organization, is supported by the generosity of individuals, foundations, corporations, public subsidies, as well as by its member museums in France and North America.